Deakin Cricket Club - History

Deakin Cricket Club was formed in 1999 from the amalgamation of Surrey Park Cricket Club & Mountain Crusaders Cricket Club.

Surrey Park CC were located at the lower North West oval at Surrey Park alongside Surrey Dive, and next to the Box Hill Swimming Pool complex. The City of Whitehorse needed the oval for the relocation of the Baseball section of the Melbourne Cricket Club. After several meetings between the Council & the cricket club, Surrey Park moved to the Bennettswood Sports Ground. In that first season the oval was shared with the incumbent club of East Burwood/ Bennettswood.

In the second season at Bennettswood Sports Ground, it was decided that a second senior team was needed. Mountain Crusaders who played in the association and also had only one team were approached to amalgamate with Surrey Park CC; which Mountain Crusaders decided to go ahead with after a couple of meetings between both club committees. With the sports ground located next to the Deakin University, the name of the amalgamated clubs was agreed upon as Deakin Cricket Club.


Since the forming of the Deakin Cricket Club in 1999 we have won 5 senior grade 1st XI premierships from 11 finals series appearances. The 1st XI competed in the Howard Wilson Shield grade for the first time in the 2016/17 season.

The senior grade 2nd XI has made the finals on 6 occasions, winning a premiership for the first time in the 2016/17 season.

The club has won 1 Over 40s Veterans grade premiership and were runners up once from 3 finals series appearances, since the first season of having an Over 40s Veterans team in 2005/06.

The club introduced an Over 50s Legends team in 2017/18 and they went undefeated, winning the C grade premiership at the first attempt!

The club has had a T20 team since the 2011/12 season and won a premiership for the first time in the 2016/17 season.